Search icon

Home Page

Dr. Darina Slattery

Darina M. Slattery is a Lecturer in Technical Communication and Instructional Design at the University of Limerick (UL), where she teaches modules (courses) about e-learning, instructional design, and technical communication.

In 2019, she won the UL Award for Excellence in the Provision of Pedagogic Support, for the digital learning supports she designed and developed for UL colleagues, including the Developing UL Online (or DUO) programme, TEL workshops, and suite of online resources, as well as the one-to-one mentoring she offers colleagues.

In 2019, Darina also won the Frank R. Smith Outstanding Journal Article Award for an article she co-authored with Aileen Cudmore in the STC's 'Technical Communication' journal (volume 66, issue 4).  The article was titled 'An Analysis of Physical and Rhetorical Characteristics of Videos Used to Promote Technology Projects, on the Kickstarter Crowdfunding Platform'.

Darina is an Alumna of the Institute for Emerging Leadership in Online Learning (IELOL) professional development programme, which was jointly developed by the University of Central Florida and Online Learning Consortium.

Darina has published her research in international refereed journals and conference proceedings. She is a reviewer for several international journals, including the British Journal of Educational Technology, IEEE Transactions on Professional Communication, Computers & Education, Computers and Composition, and Communication Design Quarterly. Her current research projects are concerned with learning analytics, online learning/ e-learning, content analysis, flipped classrooms, and virtual teams. She was a member of the conference planning teams for the IEEE Professional Communication Conference (Madison, USA, 2017 and Toronto, Canada, 2018). 

She is currently Vice President of the IEEE Professional Communication Society (ProComm) and serving her second term as an elected member of the Board of Governors of ProComm. 

Darina currently serves on a number of school, faculty, and university committees.  Previously, she was Programme Director for the MA in Technical Communication and E-Learning and Graduate Certificate in Technical Writing programmes at UL.